Getting nose fillers in Korea

So this topic I was a bit hesitant to talk about since there are always so many mixed reactions about it.
For as long as I could remember, the two things I disliked most about my appearance were my eyes (brought on my years…YEARS of teasing in Primary School) and my nose.
So much that I’d freak out if someone took a photo of me from the side, or I strategically figured out a way to take photos so my nose looks smaller / less bent.


The main thing I disliked was the big dip below the bridge and the way the tip of my nose pointed downwards a bit too much.
I know, it’s really not that bad but it was one of my biggest insecurities.
So if you have a chance to change something you don’t like, then why not do it?
I researched rhinoplasty surgery in Korea, but it was upwards of 3,000,000KRW which I definitely could not afford, and to be honest I’m a bit afraid of doing that right now. Which lead me to look into fillers.

I researched so many clinics in Seoul to find one I liked, but I actually couldn’t find many reviews on nose fillers at these clinics. Which lead me to Edward Avila’s video  on nose fillers and, after making a couple calls and researching a bit, I decided to go to the same clinic; 고운세상피부과 (Gowoong Sesang) in Gangnam and had it done there in October 2016.

Before I go on, I’ll post before and after photos:
nose1.jpg

*not a forehead a sixhead.

I really wish I took photos of the clinic but I was honestly so nervous. Next time I go back, I’ll take some photos if they allow them.

A few hours before I called the clinic and made the reservation and went pretty much straight away. I’m not sure if the staff who deals with reservations speaks English but the doctor knows quite a bit.
The clinic itself was very, very clean and spotless.
As soon as I got there, I just filled in some paperwork; nothing complicated, just personal information and started talking to the doctor.

The doctor was so nice and understood really well what you want. He actually wanted to put less filler than he actually did, since he said I “have a type of nose people always ask him for” but I told him I really really hated it so he put a teensy tiny bit more..Although I would’ve liked him to lift the tip of it a bit more, but since it was the first session it was probably better to go less.

Usually these last for around 9 months but he said for me he would say it might last around 6 months.

After talking they put some numbing cream on my nose, as well as below for the areas they would be injecting and waited around 20(?) minutes.

kakaotalk_photo_2016-12-03-17-14-44_78

Time to do the actual fillers! It actually didn’t hurt as much as I expected. A bit of a pinch…the numbing cream really did a good job. He first injected into the bridge of my nose and my eyes started tearing up SO badly and I had tears running down my face and the doctor was like “you’re crying?? no no no dont cry it’s okay. does it hurt a lot?” to which I said no, just my eyes are tearing up and at this point he noticed my tattoos and piercings and just went…”ah…” and continued ㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋ
The only part that hurt a bit more was just below the tip of my nose, where it joins to the top of my lip and for nearly a week after getting it done, it still hurt.
One cool (gross?) thing is that I actually felt the needle go into the tip of my nose..there was no pain, yet I could physically feel the needle going in. Pretty cool 😀

After that he shaped and moulded the fillers into shape and 15 minutes later we were done!

The nurses put these tiny band aid patches on the injection sites and told me care info.
Don’t get the area wet for around a day and don’t wear glasses for around the same time.

All of this only cost 100,000KRW!
When you go there, they also offer touch ups within the month for 50,000KRW.

There was absolutely no bruising and the soreness and pain subsided within a few days, depending on the person. Other than some shiny-ness, there’s no evidence that you got anything done.

And the next day, the nurses called to check up on me and to see if everything was okay. They said if I have bruising and any intense pain to go back into the clinic for them to check it for me. Which to be honest, I didn’t expect them to call to check up on me since it was just that cheap.

I know it’s really cheap for fillers but there’s nothing shady going on. The clinic also does a lot of other things like botox, laser,  body shaping, basically everything as well.

I’m on month 2 of fillers and they’re still the same and I’m really happy with them. I’m due to get them done again in April / May depending on how they are within the next few months so I’ll definitely get more photos and videos for you then.

For anyone who is looking into getting fillers done, please do your research and choose somewhere that you think is the best place for you.

Thanks for reading!
Until next time:

~Kari

Directions:
Come out of Gangnam Station exit one and turn right and walk until you see a big red container building.
Literally, the building looks like a container. Don’t go up the stairs, there’s a doorway with an elevator at the end of the hall and it’s the 3rd floor.

Map on their site:

Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 11.22.25 PM.png

Leave a Reply

